page 1| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 18/03/2002

Agreement on settlement of maritime boundary lines and sovereign rights over islands between Qatar and Abu Dhabi, 30 March 1969

Recognizing the cordial and fraternal relations that exist between the two sister Arab States, and desirous of settling maritime boundary lines and sovereign rights over islands on the basis of their mutual interests, the two Contracting Parties have agreed as follows:

- (1) That "Dina" Island is part of the territory of Abu Dhabi;
- (2) That the islands of "Lashat" and "Shraho" are part of the territory of Qatar;

(3) That both States will have no further national claims against each other in islands and waters beyond the maritime boundary lines herein agreed to;

(4)	That the mariti	ime boundary lines referred to i	n paragraph (3)) above are as follows:
(a)	A straight line between Point "A" at:			
	Latitude25	31	50	
	Longitude	53	02	05
and point B,	"Bir Elbundug", at:			
	Latitude25	05	54,79	
	Longitude	52	36	50,98
(b) A straight line between point B (described above), and point				t:
	Latitude24	48	40	
	Longitude	52	16	20
(c)	A straight line from point C (described above) to point D (at Bab Khor Eladid at the territorial sea boundary) at:			
	Latitude24	48	40	
	Longitude	52	16	20

(5) That the above points and lines shall as soon as possible be drawn in a small maritime boundary chart in duplicate, each to be signed by both Contracting Parties;

(6) That the Contracting Parties will have equal rights of ownership over "Hagl Elbundug" and agreed to consult each other in all matters concerning its exploitation;

(7) That "Hagl Elbundug" shall be exploited by ADMA (Abu Dhabi Marine Areas Co.) in accordance with the terms of the agreements between the Company and the Ruler of Abu Dhabi. All revenues, profits and benefits derived from such exploitation shall be divided in equal shares by the Governments of Qatar and Abu Dhabi.