Publisher: Minister of Environment Type of act: regulation Type of text: original text-full text Entry into force of the revision: 12.11.2021 Expiry of revision: Currently valid Disclosure notice: RT I, 09.11.2021, 10

Determining the nitrate-sensitive area and restrictions on agricultural activities in the nitrate-sensitive area

Adopted on 05.11.2021 No. 49

The regulation is established on the basis of § 37 (2) and § 168 (4) of the Water Act .

§ 1. Scope of regulation

The decree defines a nitrate-sensitive area, and within its limits are limestone and karst areas with a surface cover thickness of up to 2 meters (hereinafter areas with unprotected groundwater), and a list of important spring and karst areas and activity restrictions in areas with unprotected groundwater are established.

§ 2. Location of Pandivere and Adavere-Põltsamaa nitrate-sensitive area and areas with unprotected groundwater

(1) Pandivere and Adavere-Põltsamaa nitrate-sensitive area (hereinafter nitrate-sensitive area) is located:

1) in Lääne-Viru county in the city of Rakvere, Rakvere municipality, Kadrina municipality, Tapa municipality, Väike-Maarja municipality and Vinni municipality;

2) Järva municipality and Paide city in Järva county;

3) Jõgeva county, Põltsamaa municipality and Jõgeva municipality.

(2) The outer boundary of the nitrate-sensitive area and the boundaries of areas with unprotected groundwater within it are presented 2

3

in the environmental portal and in the map application of the Geoportal of the Land Board

§ 3. Activity restrictions in areas with unprotected groundwater and karst area

In areas with unprotected groundwater and karst areas, the following must not:

1) the amount of nitrogen given by mineral fertilizers per year exceeds 120 kg per hectare of cultivated land, and the amount of nitrogen given to winter crops and multi-thread grasslands at the same time must not exceed 80 kg per hectare of cultivated land per vear:

2) to keep more than 1.5 animal units per hectare of agricultural land;

3) use sewage sludge.

§ 4. Important spring and karst areas

Important spring and karst areas that need protection within the nitrate-sensitive area are the following:

1) Aavere karst lake (LTA1000502);

- 2) Aidu karst area (LTA1000523);
- 3) Aniste-Einjärve karst lakes (LTA1000506);
- 4) Assamalla gorge (LTA1000504);
- 5) Springs of Esna Park (LTA1000518);
- 6) Jalgsema karst lakes (LTA1000511);
- 7) Jupri karst valley (LTA1000516);
- 8) Järsi karst lakes (LTA1000507);
- 9) Kalana karst area (LTA1000522);
- 10) Kiigumõisa springs (LTA1000500);
- 11) Kilts manor park springs (LTA1000514);
- 12) Lüsing spring and karst area (LTA1000513);
- 13) Muru karst area (LTA1000509);
- 14) Springs of Mõdriku Manor (LTA1000505);
- 15) Mødriku mill springs (LTA1000519);
- 16)
- 17) Print sources (LTA1000508);
- 18) Roosna-Alliku Cold Springs (LTA1000512);
- 19) Saxon karst lake (LTA1000510);
- 20) Tudre karst lake (LTA1000515);
- 21) Tórma sources (LTA1000503);
- 22) Sources of wealth (LTA1000521);
- 23) Algae springs (Great Lake) (LTA1000520);
- 24) Algae springs (Väikejärv) (LTA1000501).

Council Directive 91/676/EEC on the protection of water bodies against nitrate pollution from agriculture (OJ L 375, 31.12.1991, pp. 1-8).

2

environmental portal.ee

3

https://geoportaal.maaamet.ee/

Tõnis Mölder Minister

Meelis Münt Chancellor